The Best Exercise You Aren’t Doing

The title is a bit presumptuous…and evening news-y. But still, if you work out I hope you are doing more than just running on a treadmill. Strength work is vital. And if you are, you are probably doing to typical gym stuff. What you may not be doing are Clean and Jerks. Most gyms aren’t set up for them, and if they are most people to do Olympic/power lifting as part of their normal routine. If you still aren’t aware of what I’m talking about, here you go:

As a man, few things make you feel manlier then picking up 200 pounds off the ground and lifting it over head. I was introduced to the world of Olympic and power lifting through Crossfit (queue angry rants by powerlifting hipsters) and fell in love with these movements. Full body workouts, obviously it does great things from a strength standpoint, and you’ll get all the phillies looking at you when you drop the weight to the ground (if you’re into that sort of thing). My numbers may not be anything to brag about just yet, but I’m working on it. And it makes working out easier since I want to get in and work on it. And you know what they say, the best workout is the one you do.

I recommend it for the ladies out there as well. But I figure most of you think if you so much as look at any strength equipment you will end up looking like this:

Gives surprisingly gentle back rubs

But the reality is you have to try super hard to get that look. Staci over at Nerd Fitness is a good example of what you young ladies could look like with strength training. She deadlifts over 300 lbs. Most guys I know can’t do that (probably says more about my friends than anything else). Or how about Camille Leblanc-Bazinet?

You’re not kicking her out of bed anytime soon

Sexy french (canadian) accent included

But I strongly encourage you to see if your gym has bumper plates or an Olympic lifting area. Or, if you decided that your bank account was getting a little too full, hit up a Crossfit gym.

Leave a comment